Travel to Georgia

Travel to Georgia

Georgia is closer than it seems!

The visa policy of Georgia has changed recently and the last change came in beginning of June 2015. There are currently 94 countries for which Georgia is visa-free for 90 days, this makes easy to travel to Georgia for lots of people. In this section we will tell you which citizens of which countries do not need a visa to enter Georgia, which flights and to which airport it is better to fly to, and much more!

List of countries whose citizens can travel to Georgia without a visa for a year:

• Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia

• Barbados, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei

• Vanuatu, Great Britain, Overseas territories of Great Britain, Hungary, Vatican

• Guatemala, Germany, Grenada, Greece, Honduras

• Denmark, Kingdom of Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic

• Israel, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Iran, Jordan

• Canada, Qatar, Cyprus, Colombia, Costa Rica, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan

• Latvia, Lithuania, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg

• Mauritius, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro

• New Zealand, Netherlands, Netherlands, Norway

• United Arab Emirates, Oman

• Panama, Palau, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal

• Romania, Russia

• San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Serbia, Singapore, Suriname, Slovakia, Slovenia, USA, Commonwealth of the Bahamas

• Turkey, Turkmenistan, Thailand, Tajikistan, Tuvalu

• Ukraine, Uzbekistan

• Finland, Fiji, France, France

• Croatia

• Czech

• Sweden, Switzerland

• El Salvador, Ecuador, Estonia

• South Korea, South Africa

• Japan

As we see, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Afghanistan, China, Vietnam, Indonesia and some other countries did not get on this list. Citizens of these countries have to get a single entry visa for 90 days, which costs $ 50.

There are 3 international airports in Georgia: Chorokh Airport in Batumi, Copintari Airport in Kutaisi and the airport named after Shota Rustaveli in Tbilisi.

Flights to Georgia

The country's flagship carrier is Georgian Airways, which operates direct flights to Austria, Armenia, the UK, the Netherlands, Ukraine, and the Czech Republic. In addition, you can travel to Georgia with other many international carriers of different classes such as: Aegean Airlines, Air Arabia, Air Astana, AirBaltic, AirCairo, ATA Airlines, Altasglobal, Azerbaigan Airlines, Belavia, Buta Airways, China Southern Airlines, El Al Israel Airlines, FlyDubai, Gulf Air, Iran Air, Israir, LOT, Lufthansa, Pegasus Airlines, Qatar Airways, SCAT, Taban Air, Turkish Airlines, Ukraine International, SkyUp, Wataniya Airways, Yanair, Zagros Airlines.

Georgia has three international airports in Tbilisi, Batumi and Kutaisi. Tbilisi international airport receives flights from different cities of the world. Tbilisi is best gateway to travel to Georgia.

There are direct flights to Tbilisi from London, Tel-Aviv, Kiev, Yerevan, Barcelona,Bologna, Prague, Brussels, Berlin, Paris, Amsterdam, Vienna, Dubai, Delhi, Abu-Dhabi, Riyadh, Istanbul, Doha, Urumqi, Aktau, Ankara, Munich, Athens, Warsaw, Leipzig, Riga, Rome, Seoul.

Batumi international airport also has direct flights from: Minsk, Istanbul, Tel-Aviv, Ankara, Odessa, Milan, Kiev, Tbilisi

Kutaisi airport has become very busy airport. Two airlines operate from Kutaisi, Wizz air and Ryanair. Kutaisi airport has direct flights to Vienna, Brussels, Larnaca, Prague, Copenhagen, Tallin, Turku, Basel, Nice, Paris, Berlin, Cologne, Dortmund, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Karlsruhe, Munich, Nuremberg, Athens, Haraklion, Thessaloniki, Budapest, Bari, Bologna, Milan, Naples, Pisa, Rome, Venice, Riga, Vilnius, Eindhoven, Gdansk, Katowice, Krakow, Poznan, Warsaw, Wroclaw, Barcelona, Stockholm, London.

Occupied territories of Georgia

The Georgian stamp in the passport allows you to visit Abkhazia and Ossetia and return back. This is the only legal way to travel to Georgia, including all locations of its territories including Abkhazia and Ossetia.

If you entered Abkhazia from Russia, you can only enter Georgia from there illegally. This fact has been known for a long time and still over and over again, citizens of Russia or Ukraine are trying to openly implement this, and are very surprised when they are arrested. In part, just such cases generated rumors of mass arrests of Russian citizens in Georgia.

Departure in the opposite direction in theory is possible (the most surprising is that it is not even forbidden strictly by the letter of the law), but in the end you are left without a Georgian exit stamp, which closes your further entry into Georgia, and does not decorate your passport at all.